Share this post: ×

Conference Planning Committee

Kate A. Hutcheson (Committee Chair), PhD, CCC-SLP, BCS-S


Kate A. Hutcheson, PhD is an Associate Professor in the Department of Head and Neck Surgery and Associate Director of Research for the Section of Speech Pathology and Audiology at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Dr. Hutcheson is a Board Certified Specialist in Swallowing and Swallowing Disorders (BCS-S) and an expert clinician in radiation associated dysphagia and head and neck cancer rehabilitation. Dr. Hutcheson leads an NIH-funded research program focused on optimization of functional outcomes in head and neck cancer survivors.


Financial: Receiving lodging stipend from NFOSD

Research funding: NCI R03CA1881652, NIDCR R01FR025248, MD Anderson Oropharynx Program Fund, MD Anderson Institutional Research Grant Program, NCI CTEP NCORP

Salary: MD Anderson Cancer Center

Honoraria: MedBridge, Medical College of Wisconsin, University of Wisconsin

Non-financial: AB-SSD board

Liza Blumenfeld, CCC-SLP, BCS-S


Liza currently works as the Co-Director of the UCSD Moores Head and Neck Cancer Center and UCSD Voice and Swallowing Center. She is a board-certified swallowing disorders specialist whose therapeutic approach integrates science and technology within a multidisciplinary care model. Liza has served in rehabilitation leadership since 1996, providing both therapeutic services and administrative oversight of clinical programs. Prior to joining UC San Diego Health, she was manager of speech-language pathology, audiology and motility at the Center for Voice and Swallowing at Scripps Memorial Hospital in La Jolla, where she was recognized for transforming the center into a thriving regional center of excellence. Blumenfeld also is a national instructor to speech-language pathologists on transnasal endoscopy technique and interpretation.


Financial: I am co-owner of Endo-Education; employed by the University of California – San Diego; receiving lodging stipend from NFOSD

Non-Financial: none

Michelle Ciucci, PhD, CCC-SLP


Dr. Michelle Ciucci is a tenured Associated Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Her NIH funded translational research program addresses the underlying pathologic mechanisms and potential treatments for communication and swallow disorders in neurodegenerative disease. She also uses state of the art high resolution manometry to study normal and disordered swallowing physiology. Dr. Ciucci has authored over 45 peer-reviewed publications, is a national and international invited speaker, and is committed to teaching and mentoring undergraduate and graduate students. Dr. Ciucci is on the board of directors for the National Foundation of Swallowing Disorders,


Financial: Grants include NIH-NIDCD, Cornell University, University of Wisconsin, Michael J Fox Foundation, Howard Hughes Medical Foundation, Reviewer for NIH. Receiving lodging stipend from NFOSD

Salary: University of Wisconsin – Madison

Non-Financial: Board of Directors for NFOSD, Editorial Board Journal of Speech-Language-Hearing Research

Nancy Swigert, CCC-SLP, BCS-S, ASHA Fellow, ASHA Honors


Nancy is the Process Excellence Coordinator at Baptist Health Lexington in KY. She is a board certified specialist in swallowing and swallowing disorders and the past chair of the American Board of Swallowing and Swallowing Disorders.  She lectures and writes on both pediatric and adult dysphagia.


Financial: Receiving lodging stipend from NFOSD. Royalties from The Source for Dysphagia and The Source for Pediatric Dysphagia

Non-Financial: Published on dysphagia

Denise A. Barringer, CCC-SLP, BCS-S


Denise Barringer, MS, CCC-SLP, BCS-S, is a board certified swallowing specialist with over 15 years of experience in the area dysphagia in patients with head and neck cancer.  Denise is the Manager of the Section of Speech Pathology and Audiology at the University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center.  She serves both at the state and national level on various boards and is the Past President of the Texas Speech-Language-Hearing Association.


Financial: Salary from University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Non-Financial Disclosures:  Chair of the Public Relations Committee for the American Board of Swallowing and Swallowing Disorders; Chair of the Past Presidents Powerhouse for the Texas Speech-Language-Hearing Association