Share this post: ×


Add Programs Here.

Share this post: ×

Who We Are


The National Foundation of Swallowing Disorders was founded in August 2006 as a national, independent, 501(c)(3) not for profit organization.  Inspired by the limitations of available treatments and the struggles, challenges and sheer bravery of patients suffering from Dysphagia, founding member and leading Otolayrangologist Dr. Peter Belafsky, speech pathologist and Dysphagia consultant Jan Pryor and Dysphagia patient Sonia Blue began creating their vision of a Foundation that would grow to be a leading resource for Dysphagia education, patient/caregiver support and serve as a clearinghouse for cutting edge research and development. With the addition of Mike Donovan, as our treasurer/fundraiser, our board was complete.

In August 2012, the Foundation Board of Directors unanimously nominated Ed Steger to take on the role of President for the foundation. Ed accepted this gift by stepping into this new role on September 1, 2012.

Our Team

Ed StegerPresident

Sonia BlueFormer President

Dr. Peter BelafskyMedical Advisor

Jan C. PryorDysphagia Consultant

Michael S. DonovanTreasurer/Development